I Got the Blues

Not really. I just love blueberries! Tiny, sweet little beads of joy. And the color. Oh, the color. Readers, as you follow me along here in my humble kitchen, you may learn a few things about my general state of being. For starters, I am prone to laziness. I love all things culinary and crafty, but I’m no Martha Stewart. I do not have the time to make souffles while knitting a sweater and making precious crepe paper invites to my monthly tea party. No, sometimes I slap a frozen pizza in the oven and call it a done deal. On bad days, I may even resort to ramen. I know all about Escoffier, James Beard, Alice Waters. I can drop names like hotcakes. I’ve done my homework. But I live in the real world and I have a real job and I get tired after working all day. I arrive home around 8:30pm most nights, so I don’t always have the energy to whip up something from scratch.

The other night, I wanted a decadent treat on a dime. Enter pound cake. What I love about pound cake bought from the store is that it literally lasts forever. I know, I know, that’s because it’s laden with all kinds of gnarly preservatives, right? Well, anyway I had some laying around in the cupboard, on hand for unexpected dessert moments. I’m going to go ahead and use my Jacques Pepin card to fluff up my cred. I love Jacques Pepin. I used to curl up in front on the tv on Sunday mornings and watch him on PBS. I learned how to dice an onion, cut avocados, and the proper way to crack an egg, all while enjoying Pepin’s delightfully cute French accent. I have been watching a lot of Jacques Pepin’s “Fast Food My Way,” recently, and he makes such simple, elegant desserts with only pound cake, fruit and chocolate. So, I’m taking the lazy train to dessertville here, but at least I’m in good company.

Blueberry sauce on the stove, bubbling away

First, I start with a bag of frozen organic blueberries. I, like most people, can’t generally afford to buy everything organic, but berries have some of the highest rates of pesticides. Blueberries also have incredibly high amounts of good ol’ antioxidants (which all fruits and veg contain, but some more than others). I’m using frozen berries simply because in my neck of the woods they are cheaper than fresh, obviously last longer, and come in handy for spur-of-the-moment pies, muffins, pancakes…etc. I also love me some blueberry smoothies!

I don’t like to measure ingredients if I can get away with it. In this case I dumped what was left of half a bag of bluebs into the pot with a tsp of cornstarch to help thicken the syrup and a couple of Tbsp of sugar. You can add a bit of water or juice to keep the berries from scorching. Turn the heat to medium and stir, coating the bluebs in the starch and sugar until they begin to sweat and finally to burst open and pour out their delicious, ambrosia-like juice. Keep a close eye on it and let it cook to your desired consistency. To thicken nicely, it only takes about five to ten minutes.

Once done, pour over the sliced pound cake and Voila! A decadent, gourmet dessert on the fly. A spoonful of whipped cream would doll it up nicely, if you want to get fancy. Happy eating!

So simple and unassuming.

Leave a Reply

