Mrs. Sniffles

For the three people who read this blog, I am sorry for not posting in the past week, my husband has passed along  a horrendous virus. Pulsing headaches that feel as if they can shatter the skull and break apart teeth have ripped through my cortex, shivers run down my spine, my skin tingles with fever and various discharges of varying color and sorts run freely from every available facial opening. I hope that final summation doesn’t completely ruin your interest in my cooking.

The past few days have consisted of the usual leper colony fair, saltines, ginger tea and brothy soup. Last night, wracked with nausea and able to barely sit up in bed, I managed a few sips of stingingly hot and peppery tea and a spoonful of turmeric yellow brine, leftovers from days before when I had nursed my husband back to health. I had come home from a long, jittery ride on the subway to find him coiled in a fetal position under a mountain of blankets. I hadn’t even taken off my shoes before I said, “I’m going to the store to get you some good food.” He looked up at me with red-rimmed eyes, puffy from fever, “You don’t have to. It’s dark out. You just got home.” “Nonsense,” I replied. Surely nothing, and I mean nothing, is better for the sick than to be tended to sincerely and served very good food.

Determined, I trudged through the dense fog as the sky threatened rain and made it to the grocery store for all of the victuals needed for proper caregiving, fresh lemons, cartons of broth, carrots, celery, garlic, a knot of ginger, tissues, fresh rosemary, noodles and tea. The prominent  thought on my mind was to make a very good soup, a soup with sufficient salt to help the body retain fluid, with fresh herbs to heighten the olfactory sense and bring about appetite, ample vegetables for nutrition, with enough bite to help drain the sinuses and loaded with savory garlic for its anti-viral effects. As Chris groaned in the background I prepared the soup by sauteeing the carrots, onions and celery in olive oil. When the onions were beginning the carmelize and the carrots had softened I coarsely chopped two, bright green and fragrant sprigs of rosemary and added them to the vegetables. Next, I added four cups of broth (you can choose either chicken or vegetable but make sure it’s organic) and a half cup of wide egg noodles. I let that come to a boil and when the noodles were just about soft I sliced two large, raw cloves of garlic and added them too, along with a good tablespoon of cracked black pepper. I ladled it into a bowl and served with some bread that had been laying around in the kitchen.

vegetable soup to knock out any cold

My poor, sweet husband sat up in bed and took the first spoonful. It was good. He tucked into the soup and seemed to gain strength as the bowl slowly drained. When, the following day, he was feeling considerably better, I like to think the soup worked its magic. Let’s hope it does the same for me.

3 Comments on “Mrs. Sniffles”

  1. hadley says:

    a. OMG, that soup looks SO AWESOME! And it’s so pretty. You’d have to shove a million bucks right into my paws for me to make something so attractive whilst infected with a horrendous virus.

    b. Why have we not yet hung out?

    c. How’s my old workplace treating you?


    H.

    • akindofalchemy says:

      Aw shucks, thanks! I don’t know why we haven’t hung out yet, we should do something about that!

  2. Rachel says:

    That soup looks and sounds amazing! Now I want to make some too. I hope you feel better soon! I also like making a light miso soup when I’m sick.


Leave a Reply

