Mushroom Toasts

For someone on vacation, I’m keeping myself pretty well occupied. This weekend, after my venture to the Green City Market, my days were filled with cooking up all of the beautiful produce I snagged. One of my prized treasures from the market was a 2lb bag of mushrooms from River Valley Ranch. The mixed bag included tiny baby portobello mushrooms, oyster mushrooms and shitake. They were honestly the most beautiful mushrooms I have ever seen. The oyster mushrooms had large, velvety white petals, and the shitake were smooth, brown and perfect.

Almost instantly, I knew exactly what I was going to make mushroom toasts. This is the quickest, most delicious meal you can make with a sack of fresh mushrooms. I promise.

Buttery Mushroom Toasts
2 lb of mushrooms (or really, however many you have)
1 small shallot minced
2-3 tbsp unsalted butter
about 1/4 cup finely chopped parsley
4tbsp dry white wine
1-2 tsp cornstarch mixed with water or wine.
parsley to garnish
salt and pepper to taste

Thoroughly wash the mushrooms of any grit. Pat dry with a towel. Cut stems on mushrooms and slice. The smaller button-shaped mushrooms I cut in half or in quarters if they were larger. I sliced the shitake and oyster mushrooms lengthwise. In a pan on medium-high heat, melt butter and saute shallots for 2-3 mins. Add in mushrooms and parsley. Cook mushrooms until slightly tender (5-10mins.), there will be considerable juice in the pan.

For this recipe you want the mushrooms juicy so you can make a gravy. Add in the wine and stir until liquid reduces slightly (1-2mins). Add in the cornstarch to thicken the gravy.

Top your favorite bread with the mushrooms. I picked up a crusty loaf of Italian bread.

The mushroom toasts were indescribably savory and they made a surprisingly hearty meal. It almost goes without saying, but there were no leftovers.

2 Comments on “Mushroom Toasts”

  1. Rachel says:

    This looks amazing! I miss your cooking. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

