Carrot Cake on a Cold Day


Pin It

What do you do on a frosty winter’s day with a bag of carrots that are starting to turn? Bake carrot cake of course! I’m snowed in this weekend, so I thought I’d do double duty and heat the house with my baking while also clearing out the fridge. The beauty of this recipe is that I already had everything I needed in the cupboard. I nixed the traditional cream cheese frosting because I prefer to cut the sugar and enjoy the sweetness of the carrots and fruit.

Carrot Cake

2 cups flour ( I use whole wheat flour)
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 cup sugar

2 cups grated carrot
8 oz. crushed pineapple
½ cup raisins
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
¾ cup oil
¾ cup milk
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
¼ tsp ground clove

Pre-heat oven to 350F.
In a large mixing bowl combine grated carrot, raisins, pineapple, walnuts, spices and all wet ingredients. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients (four, sugar, salt, baking soda). Slowing add the dry ingredients into the wet mixture. Mix thoroughly.

Pour batter into a greased cake pan. I used a 9” round springform pan.
Bake 45-50mins.

To use honey instead of sugar, increase the sweetener to 1 1/2 cups and add one cup of flour.


Pin It

The perfect treat after a day of sledding!

Leave a Reply

